Movie Review: The Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

Director: David O. Russel

Producers by: Bruce Cohen

Donna Gigliotti

Executive Producers: Jonathan Godon

George Parra

Starring: Bradley Cooper

Jennifer Lawrence

Robert DeNiro

Jackie Weaver

According to IMDB, this movie is about Pat (Cooper), a man diagnosed with bipolar disorder, who after leaving a mental institution moves back in with his parents (De Niro and Weaver). The story is about his development and how he tries to win back his wife, while at the same time getting help from Tiffany (Lawrence), an interesting, yet mysterious girl, with problems of her own. It is nominated for 8 Oscars, 4 Golden Globes (one was won), 3 BAFTAs, 4 SAG awards and 5 Independent Spirit Awards and is an adapted screen play of a book of the same name.

I watched this movie this past week and I have to say it is one of the best I’ve seen lately for many reasons. This is the first time that I watch a movie starring Bradley Cooper and don’t think of him as just a pretty face. Not that I think he is gorgeous or anything, but his acting has always been lacking something for me. Not in this movie though! I thought he was believable, did not over do it, and I found myself being empathetic.

Jackie Weaver was absolutely stunning in this. She played Pat’s mother. I just felt like hugging her during all her scenes. The facial expressions, the accent, the body language, everything was pinpoint and perfect.

Robert De Niro is an actor I have some kind of love/hate relationship with, especially because of his latest role. However, I did appreciate his character in this movie. The fact that he has OCD created somekind of background story for Pat’s bipolar disorder. At least, that’s the way I saw it. It is safe to say that  it was beautifully portrayed.

Now, Jennifer Lawrence. The reason I left her for last is simply because she completely blew my mind. In fact, she was so mind blowing as Tiffany that she rendered me speechless. I don’t even know what to say about her because her portrayal of the character was more than just perfect. It was honnest, sincere, real, intense, mindboggling, and everything in between. She most definitely deserve the Golden Globe she got for this role and the multitude of pending nominations she has.

This is one of those movies than made me laugh through my tears. Of course that would be because I cry at almost everything, but still. It is a beautiful movie that is realistic, except maybe for the fairytale like ending but I’m not gonna let than rain on my parade. The dance scene can make me overlook that. I’m not gonna say any more than this. I’ll let you discover it for yourselves if you still haven’t. If you have, feel free to comment and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Movie Review: The Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

  1. Nice, well done review. I’m with you regarding J-Law as Tiffany. I’ve never seen intensity like this before. Just a mesmerizing performance. I liked the film so much that I’ve seen it twice. Check out my review if you have a chance.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

